Dern, Gooding, Kinnear and Suvari to Present at 2012 Student Academy Awards®

Credit: Matt Petit / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Actors Laura Dern, Cuba Gooding Jr., Greg Kinnear and Mena Suvari have been tapped to present at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards on Saturday, June 9, at 6 p.m. at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. Hosted by Academy President Tom Sherak, the awards ceremony is the culmination of a week of industry activities that the Academy is hosting for the 13 student filmmakers from the U.S. and abroad who have been selected as winners this year.

Dern, who received a nomination for Actress in a Leading Role for “Rambling Rose” in 1991, will be seen next as Helen in “The Master,” due out later this year. Her other credits include “Inland Empire,” “We Don’t Live Here Anymore,” “Jurassic Park” and “Blue Velvet.” 

Credit: Ivan Vejar / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Gooding won an Academy Award® for Actor in a Supporting Role in 1996 for his role in “Jerry Maguire.” He was most recently seen in “Red Tails,” released earlier this year. His other acting credits include “Men of Honor,” “What Dreams May Come” and “As Good As It Gets.” His next project is Lee Daniels’s “The Butler” set to begin shooting this summer.

Kinnear earned a nomination for Actor in a Supporting Role for “As Good As It Gets” in 1997. His other credits include “Ghost Town,” “Little Miss Sunshine” and “You’ve Got Mail.” He will next be seen in “The English Teacher,” due out later this year.

Credit: Jim Spellman /

Suvari’s credits include the 1999 Best Picture winner “American Beauty,” the “American Pie” franchise, “Six Feet Under” and most recently “American Horror Story.” She will next be seen in “The Knot,” set for release this fall.

A complete list of this year’s Student Academy Award winners can be found at:

Credit: Teren Oddo

While all winners know they will each receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 9 ceremony. Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000.

To follow the journeys of the 2012 Student Academy Award winners, visit

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award® winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar® nominations and have won or shared eight awards. At the 84th Academy Awards earlier this year, 2011 Student Academy Award winners Hallvar Witzø and Max Zähle were nominated in the Live Action Short Film category for “Tuba Atlantic” and “Raju,” respectively. James Spione, a Student Academy Award winner in 1987, earned a nomination in the Documentary Short Subject category for “Incident in New Baghdad.”

The 39th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 9 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets are available online at, in person at the Academy box office, or by mail. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. For more information, call (310) 247-3600.

About Kimberly Michele Durham


Posted on June 6, 2012, in Academy Awards, K*Chele Magazine, Movie News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: