Don Mischer Productions Returns for Fourth Show

Marketing executive Cheryl Boone Isaacs will produce the 4th Annual Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy President Tom Sherak announced today. She will share the duties with the Don Mischer Production team led by Don Mischer, Charlie Haykel and Juliane Hare. One or more of the Academy’s highest honors – the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award – will be presented at the event on Saturday, December 1, in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland Center®. 

“Cheryl’s vision, creativity and her love of movies and our Academy are the perfect foundation for honoring those who have given so much to our industry,” said Sherak. “It’s also a pleasure to welcome back Don and his team, some of the most capable professionals in the business, who will give our honorees and guests an exciting and unforgettable evening.”

Boone Isaacs, a member of the Academy’s Board of Governors representing the Public Relations Branch, currently heads CBI Enterprises, Inc. where she has consulted on such films as “The Artist,” “The King’s Speech,” “Precious,” “Spiderman 2” and “Tupac: Resurrection.Boone Isaacs served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema, where she oversaw box offices successes including “The Spy who Shagged Me” and “Rush Hour.” Prior to joining New Line Cinema in 1997, Boone Isaacs served as executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures. She orchestrated publicity campaigns for “Forrest Gump” and “Braveheart,” each of which won multiple Academy Awards®, including Best Picture.

Mischer is a veteran television producer and director who has been recognized with 15 Emmy® Awards and a record 10 Directors Guild of America Awards. With a career spanning more than three decades, his credits include producing and directing the 83rd and 84th Academy Awards; opening and closing ceremonies of the 2002 Winter Olympic Games in Salt Lake City; the 2004 Democratic National Convention; Super Bowl halftime shows starring Bruce Springsteen, Paul McCartney, the Rolling Stones and Prince; and “We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial.”

Haykel and Hare most recently executive produced “Oscars® Red Carpet Live,” the 90-minute red carpet arrivals show that immediately preceded the 84th Academy Awards telecast in February. They were also consulting producers for the Oscar® telecast.

The 2012 honorees will be selected at a specially convened meeting of the Academy’s Board in August.

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award are Oscar statuettes; the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is a bust of its namesake.

About Kimberly Michele Durham


Posted on July 9, 2012, in Academy Awards, K*Chele Magazine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: